Stuart Earl

St Mark's

Deirdre Earl-Williams


Doug Oliver


We are currently a group of three Independent Councillors in Rother District, representing two wards in Bexhill between us. There is a further Independent Councillor who represents another Bexhill ward, who presently prefers to remain outside our group.


We think that collectively all of us share a common basic belief that at the local level, “party politics” does not necessarily advance the concept of local government. This may be wildly aspirational, but our sole purpose is to represent and serve our local communities as best we can without a political whip.


The main reason for us forming a “group” is simply practical; by doing so under the Council’s constitutional procedures we obtain representation as a right on all key committies, except “The Cabinet”.